Angelique Kidjo to receive prestigious music prize

Angélique Kidjo

By Phephile Motau

Angélique Kidjo has been announced as one of three 2023 Polar Music Prize recipients, the third African musician to win the prize. According to CNN, the prize which was founded in 1989 by ABBA manager Stig “Stikkan” Anderson, the Sweden-based prize has been awarded since 1992 and is considered to be among the most prestigious honours in the music industry.

Past winners include Paul McCartney (1992), Elton John (1995), Stevie Wonder (1999), Björk (2010), and Sting (2017). The five-time Grammy winner will join only two previous recipients from the African continent: South Africa’s Miriam Makeba in 2002, and Senegal’s Youssou N’Dour in 2013.

Read More: Social Media Awards: A celebration of creative excellence and small businesses 

Honoured alongside Kidjo this year will be Chris Blackwell, founder of Island Records in the UK, and Arvo Pärt of Estonia, the world’s most performed living composer, according to a Polar Music Prize press release.

“To be awarded the Polar Music Prize is humbling,” Kidjo said in the release. “I have no words to say how important this is for me. It comes with a sense of responsibility that is bestowed upon me as an artist to continue to do great work. I will do my best to be a proud recipient of the prize through my work as a UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador, on behalf of the children, and as an ambassador of music, to help create a world in which we can all live in peace.”

The ceremony will take place on May 23 in Stockholm.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *